lesnobird.blogg.se

Warcraft 3 battlenet custom games
Warcraft 3 battlenet custom games










warcraft 3 battlenet custom games

I enjoyed Warcraft 3 but I always liked 2 and its exapansions better. I Still have all my original copies of all my blizzard games with CD keys from the original Warcraft and diablo up to Warcraft 3. If anyone from Blizzard is reading this, I'd say that's my number one concern right now. I'm extremely excited for reforged, but I really hope there are better debugging tools added for Lua (perhaps for JASS as well, although I'm not as familiar with the need there). It's like trying to code without a compiler, without stack traces and without a debugger. Lua has `aceback()` but it seems Blizzard has prevented calling it. Whenever errors occur during runtime, it just stifles the error and continues without logging or warning or anything. Whenever errors occur during load, I just get an error dialog with an empty box.

warcraft 3 battlenet custom games warcraft 3 battlenet custom games

Even if I remove some modules and can't get a desync anymore, doesn't mean it's fixed - it's possible I just never hit the specific circumstance that causes it. I've done manual tests slowly by removing parts of code, but due to the random nature of the desync, it's really challenging to solve anything this way. No stack traces, there's no way to add breakpoints or logs, prints slow things down to a crawl and so aren't really reasonable to try to debug with either.

warcraft 3 battlenet custom games

There is currently a player desync happening in multiplayer in my map (somehow different players disagree with their local emulation), but I am given absolutely zero information about it. Unfortunately, the debugging tools are abysmal. I started working on a new custom map, which now has support for Lua and all kinds of new natives like UI natives that allow you to completely customize the UI. I recently pre-ordered and got access to the original wc3 which they've since patched with updates. The indies used to look to the AAA for inspiration and something to aspire to, but the tables have turned in a way exemplifying the capitalism and diluting the art of the medium. Once in a half decade we get a AAA game with a novel concept or a new IP (Overwatch, Fortnite maybe?), but even sequels are starting to just feel like polishing phases or DLCs on a tested IP and gameplay formula. DayZ/H1Z1 from the mod community spawning battle royale, DOTA Auto Chess custom map spawning DOTA Underlords, TFT, and Epic Games' Auto Chess (the newer big trend). DOTA2, LoL, and the entire MOBA craze was spawned because of the success of a custom WC3 map, and since then AAA have 100% adopted this as an R&D strategy. I feel like the game industry has made this really distasteful shift, of the big AAA companies just adding shoe-shine on existing projects - whether that's servicing a SaaS like League of Legends or World of WarCraft, or doing remake after remake of Age of Empires, Homeworld, StarCraft, Final Fantasy, etc, while leaving all the innovation and creativity to be explored at the expense of indies, mod creators or mapmakers.












Warcraft 3 battlenet custom games